Panahón ng pagcacáisa laban sa COVID-19

Huwág na po tayong magsisihán sa pagdami ng caso ng COVID-19 sa Filipinas. Ualâ itóng naidudulot na tulong. Oo ñga’t maraming pagcuculang ang gobierno, maraming capalpacán, pero hindí rin namán nilá cagustuhan itó. Nañgyayari itóng crisis na itó sa buóng mundo. Tayo’y mágtuluñgan na laang at supórtahan ang bauat hacbáng na puedeng pumiguil sa pagcalat ng pandémico. Hindî itó ang tamang panahón ng pamomolítica. Itó ang panahón ng pagcacáisa. Bauat isá sa atin ay may pananagutan.

¡Laban, Filipinas! ¡Huwág patitinag!

 

24993490_1664096443649220_3313737726860308019_n

Sundán niyó pô acó sa Facebook, Twitter, at Instagram.

Update on my wife’s cancer situation

Buenos días, amigos y parientes.

Yeyette’s breast cancer surgery was successful. Thanks be to God. 😇

I am now making an accounting of all the financial help we received for my wife Yeyette‘s hospitalization (I will post it only on my Facebook account, not here on my blog). Hope to finish it today. Also, her severed right breast is undergoing lab tests to find out if the cancer cells have totally been eliminated from her system, and to determine if she would still need chemotherapy or not. We will receive the result within a week. So yes, this is not yet over. Fervent prayers are still needed for her full recovery. May she no longer go through that torturous procedure.

24993490_1664096443649220_3313737726860308019_n

Selfie with the Sacred Heart of Jesus at the ground floor of ManilaMed on our way home last night. This hospital is the most Catholic health institution I have ever visited. The building’s penthouse has a neat-looking chapel and even has an office for the clergy. My eldest son Mómay took this photo. He came in handy during my wife’s confinement.

24993490_1664096443649220_3313737726860308019_n

We made it home before the lockdown! No social distancing here! ¡Gracias a Dios!

 

I have also received feedback about my Facebook post last Friday in which I shared a photograph of my wife’s severed breast tissue. When I did that, I was in a daze, filled with frantic confusion, wonderment, and joy (because the surgery was successful) mixed with sleeplessness and exhaustion. I also had in mind Rizal’s vertebra and Aguinaldo’s appendix (you know, for posterity and stuff, hehe). But looking back, I didn’t realize that what I did was offensive and elicited disgust among some people. My profuse apologies.

I would also like to apologize to the many people whose offer of help and assistance were not heeded. Please know that you were not ignored. While there may be many solutions to her breast cancer, we can afford to choose only one. I had to respect my wife’s decision no matter how stubborn it may seem to some. Nevertheless, I am truly grateful for your show of concern and eagerness to help out.

I would also like to extend my gratitude to those who were not able to provide financial assistance (due to unavoidable circumstances) but still took time to pray for my wife’s recovery.

Again, from the bottom of my heart, I would like to thank each and every one of you who prayed for my wife and showed their incredible generosity. I really felt like Captain America in Avengers: Endgame’s now-famous portals scene. I thought I was all alone. I didn’t know that all of you were there right behind me, ready to fight with me. ¡Gracias, gracias, muchísimas gracias!

Yeyette will reach out to all of you soon. Just give her time.

Keep safe from COVID-19

Atentamente,

Pepe Alas