Advocacy gives meaning to life

I have just finished discussing the meaning of the word “advocacy” with Junífera Clarita. I asked her if she has heard of it. She said no. So I explained it to her in the simplest way a nine-year-old kid would understand.

I told her that it is what a person is fighting for. It is a mission, a personal purpose. I cited to her an easy example which she is very familiar with: myself. She and her siblings are already aware that I advocate for the return of the Spanish language in our country. I explained to her that it used to be the language of Filipinas, that it was the language of our patriots, most especially José Rizal, and that it used to be taught in schools. I asked her if Spanish is being taught in her school. She said no.

“See?” I replied. “In the past, Spanish used to be taught in schools. But not anymore. And that is what I am fighting for. That is the reason why I always write about it in my social media accounts. Because I believe that when Filipinos learn Spanish, they will be able to recover their dignity which will bring them closer to Jesus Christ. Because Spanish is a part of us Filipinos.”

I also told her that I have another advocacy: the environment. The protection of nature. Because it is God’s gift to us. That is why we should value it.

For a brief moment, I paused and thought if I should devote more time to the environment than my fight for the return of the Spanish language. I think I should, given the alarming status of our environment.

I then cited a few other examples to make it more clearer to her. There are people who advocate for the women’s rights, people who advocate for the rights of poor children to have toys, people who advocate for sports, etc. I then asked her what she would like to advocate for. She also said the environment Well and good.

In closing, I told her that a person who has no advocacy is a dead person. He is alive, yes, but he is like a mindless robot who functions only to wake up, eat, then sleep. A worthless life. But a person who advocates for something is a person who has a heart, who is fully alive, and lives a meaningful life, a life with a purpose. I explained to her that even if I am a poor man, I do not feel that my life is meaningless because of what I am advocating for.

Throught it all, my daughter was attentive. And I’m glad she was.

PS: She has been studying Spanish for the past three weeks via Duolingo, so I told her that the Spanish for advocacy is “apoyo” or “defensa“.

Follow me on FacebookXInstagram, and Threads.